A Little About Ashley

My early years like so many here were spent on the beach, swimming, sailing, kayaking, and fishing, this was somewhat interrupted  by scouting, where I was camping, climbing, caving, coasteering and canoeing.

 

I studied marketing at University and worked in the city until I was 30, I then took off 6 months and had time for reflection and decided it was time to give something back....

I spent 16 years working with The Salvation Army, working with Adults with Learning Difficulties and those struggling with mental health, I have a LANTRA level 3 qualification on volunteer management as part of my position was to oversee and support our team of 60 volunteers.

 

I am a Director/Trustee and Company Secretary of the Dolma Foundation and set up the UK operation in 2007 I have travelled to both Nepal and Ethiopia to oversee project and whilst visiting undertook some amazing trekking and hiking.

I was  the Chairman of 4th Thorpe Bay Scout Group for 12 years and for 10 years District committee member/trustee and finally Secretary for  the Southend Estuary District Executive. .

I spent 8 years on the CIF board/panel for Catlepoint agreeing applications and distributing funds to community initiatives within Castlepoint,

 

I am a Trustee of LBDIA a small dementia awareness organisation

 

I have advised the MNDA Southend branch on a variety of fundraising and volunteering issues.

 

I spent 7 years supporting SAVS and the supported volunteers and was a member of the advisory group 

 

I enjoy Trekking and have completed the coast to coast walk (Solo) and the Hadrians Wall long distant paths, I walk annually with a group of friends and we have completed a number of week long, long distance pub to pub walks.

I have completed a number of triathlons and rely on my determination to complete them as I don't enjoy training.

I have completed the London Classics that is the Serpentine 2 mile swim, the prudential 100 bike ride, and the London Marathon

 

I enjoy Bee keeping, and have 3 hives in Shopland, 

I enjoy metal detecting and found a piece of Saxon gold first time out, without my detector (it was just on the earth in front of me), soon to appear in Southend Museum

I usually enjoy dog walking, though my latest pooch a Wire Haired Fox Terrier spends more time bouncing on 2 legs and seems untrainable, I'm guessing that's why you don't see many of them around.

 

I have a passion for antiques and collectables, and am a regular buy at auction.

 

I have a couple of classic cars a 1957 Morris Minor and a 1976 450SL

 

I have been teaching Cycling for 4 years, from Learn2Ride Adults and Children, Bikeability Levels 1, 2, and 3 and specialist Adult Cycle Training.

IMG_2085.jpeg
IMG_2088_edited.jpg
IMG_2089_edited.jpg
IMG_2086.jpeg